acer travelmate c300 on suse?

July 5, 2005

I have been reading Nat Friedman’s weblog for a while and keeping an eye on the Hula Project. Both had me impressed with what Novell has been doing since their acquisition of Suse Linux.

Today I got this email:

Hi,

I read website about the Acer TravelMate C301.

I working on better support of Tablet PCs for SUSE. Because I don’t have a
C301 for testing here, I would ask you if you can send me the
output of the following commands from this machine and your full
X-config-file ?

– dmidecode
(Not sure, but you must maybe install the dmidecode package)
– setserial -g /dev/ttyS*
– lspci -nv

Thanks for your help and the nice site about the Acer C300.

With kind regards,

Danny Kukawka

Danny Kukawka
[email removed]
Mobile Devices SUSE LINUX a Novell Business
Maxfeldstr. 5, D-90409 Nuernberg, Germany

Pretty cool. I can’t imagine getting an email like this from someone at RedHat. I’m going to make the switch from FC4 to Suse when I get the chance. Novell seems to really be embracing the open source community. I’ll let you know how it goes.

3 Responses to “acer travelmate c300 on suse?”

  1. Soulbrighter Says:

    Any news about Suse and tablet pc? I’ve got an Acer c301 and I installed Suse 9.3 from the ftp, but I couln’t get the stylus to work using your tips for fedora. I’m not a linux expert, but I’m willing to help with this matter. Maybe the guy from Suse would like my help too? 🙂

  2. baumer Says:

    I was playing around with it a little last night, but got into trying to get my external monitor running properly and never got into the stylus. I’ll let you know when I get around to it.

  3. Sevy Says:

    I’ve running the Acer C302 under SuSE 9.3 so far. So here is some help with your two problems:
    To get the stylus work you must use setserial /dev/ttyS0 port 0x06f8 irq 6 autoconfig. The important parameter ist the irq. Then the stylus should work with the wacdump program. Under Xorg the wacom_drv supplied by SuSE has a problem at least to my knowledge. The cursor jump to the top left after release of the stylus so you have to build your own driver. I’ve copied the one from SuSE 9.2 that works.
    The external Monitor runs here if I plug in the cable before boot. Then in Grub I can use FN+F5 to change to dual screen clone. This stay’s the whole time. To activate it while running I haven’t got any solution yet. Also a real dual head setup with xinerame isn’t running.


Leave a Reply

