welcome to wordpress

July 10, 2005

I have been planning to switch to an xhtml compliant blog for a while. I finally had some time in the last few days to look around. I really wanted to use typo, but my web host won’t install ruby on rails until it is incorporated into cPanel.

My second choice was WordPress. So far I have been very impressed. The migration from Movable Type was a cinch using these instructions. I used mod_rewrite to redirect all the existing MT links to WP using these instructions. I tweaked them a little bit to fit my MT naming scheme:
<?php
require('wordpress/wp-config.php');
header('Content-type: text/plain');?>
<mtentries lastn="999999">
Redirect Permanent /files/< $MTArchiveDate format="%Y/%m"$>/< ?php echo sanitize_title("<$MTEntryTitle$>");<?php http://umich2.com/archives/&lt; $MTArchiveDate format="%Y/%m/%d"$>/<?php echo sanitize_title("<$MTEntryTitle$>"); ?>
</mtentries>

I then had to go through and truncate all the MT filenames to be 15 characters without the extension. Thus,
/files/2004/12/linux_on_the_acer_travelmate_c300.php
became /files/2004/12/linux_on_the_ac.php. I’m sure there is a way to set this up to happen automatically, but I didn’t have too many entries so I just did it manually.

I’m looking forward to having a sane template to skin, so you should see a lot of changes to the design of this site soon.

Leave a Reply

