dell CERC SATA 1.5/2s != linux compatible

August 10, 2005

I ordered a Dell PowerEdge 800 in “Red Hat Linux Configuration” with a SATA RAID controller. The drives came configured as JBOD(just a bunch of discs) (no RAID). I reconfigured the controller to run RAID-1, booted to my CentOS 4 disc, but no hard drives were found.

After a little searching, I came across this document. The onboard SATA RAID controller on the PowerEdge 800, SC1425 and 420SC systems only runs in Linux with RAID off. I contacted my sales rep and the best he could offer was a CERC SATA 1.5-6CH, Six Port (342-0056) for $229 + shipping. It would have been nice to know that the onboard RAID controller was not a real RAID controller before I ordered it.

I ended up dropping in a 3ware 8006-2LP card.

3 Responses to “dell CERC SATA 1.5/2s != linux compatible”

  1. Myles Says:

    Thanks for this, it might answer a few questions as to why i am having so many problems!

  2. Jim B Says:

    Google just led me to your post from last year. I’ve got an SC1425 server and am attempting to install a 3ware 8006-2LP card – any chance you could provide details as to how you set the dell bios to make this happen? Dell tech support isn’t helpful.

    thanks!
    Jim B

  3. pete Says:

    @Jim B
    Gosh, I really don’t remember. I don’t recall having to do anything unusual to get it to boot from card. I would just cycle through the boot device options until you get one that boots.


Leave a Reply

