smoothwall flush dns cache

September 26, 2005

At home I use an old computer running Smoothwall for a firewall. It was the cheapest and easiest way for me to connect to my office via IPSec. In hindsight, I probably should have gone with a totally open source project like IPCop. One of these days, I’ll get around to switching it or maybe just running it all from my Linksys WRT54G.

Anyhow, I move a lot of domains around and it is helpful to be able to get dns changes quickly. To do this with my smoothy, or any other Linux-based firewall/DNS Server I imagine, as root:
killall dnsmasq
dnsmasq -r /etc/resolv.conf.dnsmasq

2 Responses to “smoothwall flush dns cache”

  1. Tom Newton Says:

    SmoothWall Express *is* a totally Free (capital F) project, but it is funded by the non-free organisation.

    Tom

  2. baumer Says:

    Thanks for the clarification Tom.

    My impression of Smoothwall Express is that it is a stripped down version of the non-free firewall offered by Smoothwall. Contributions to Smoothwall Express from the OSS community will always be limited to 3rd party mod’s in order to keep the commercial product a leg up on the free product. In the long run, this makes the commercial product better while hamstringing the development of the open source project.

    SugarCRM works on the same business model, which is why I would rather use the vTiger fork.

    I would prefer to use and contribute to a project where I know the developers want to provide the best possible software to all its users.

    Just my 2 cents…


Leave a Reply

