NX Server on Ubuntu Edgy AMD64

November 29, 2006

Since I couldn’t find FreeNX packages for Ubuntu 6.10 AMD64 anywhere, I had to get my hands dirty. These instructions are provided on a “works for me, but may blow up your computer” basis.

  1. Download the latest .deb installers for nxclient, nxnode, and nxserver.
  2. Download the i386 libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2 Debian package
  3. In a temporary directory, sudo dpkg --extract libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2_[current version].deb
  4. sudo cp ./usr/lib/*.so /usr/lib32
  5. sudo dpkg --force-architecture --ignore-depends=libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2 -i nxclient_[current version]_i386.deb
  6. sudo dpkg --force-architecture -i nxnode_[current version]_i386.deb
  7. sudo dpkg --force-architecture -i nxserver_[current version]_i386.deb

That should do it. I already had Firefox installed in a 32-bit environment, so I’m guessing there may be some other dependencies out there too.

14 Responses to “NX Server on Ubuntu Edgy AMD64”

  1. AndrewC Says:

    I wish I had the same success with these steps as you have :-/

    NX> 701 WARNING: /usr/NX/scripts/setup/nxserver: 2487: /usr/NX/bin/nxssh: not found.

    during server install. The crazy thing is nxssh is clearly present! Trying to run nxssh manually produces the same result:

    % /usr/NX/bin/nxssh
    bash: /usr/NX/bin/nxssh: No such file or directory

    I’m new to 64bit platforms, is this the kind of error message I should expect when 32bit-ness is getting in the way? who knows. So frustrating. My office-mate has it working on Ubuntu 32bit (on his 64bit machine); I’m tempted to downgrade and lose the phat-tabulousness that is 64bit Ubuntu.

  2. pete Says:

    I didn’t get those errors. Are you running these commands as sudo?

  3. AndrewC Says:

    I followed your installation steps. I just tried

    % sudo /usr/NX/bin/nxssh
    sudo: unable to execute /usr/NX/bin/nxssh: No such file or directory

  4. AndrewC Says:

    Mind you this is after several attempts at installation, following a variety of instructions. Maybe my machine is borked at this point :-/ All installation attempts had this same problem though…

  5. AndrewC Says:

    I’m following some guides to installing Firefox 32bit, and I’ve made progress! A new error message is progress, right? If I get this guy working I’ll post a “from fresh Ubuntu 6.10 AMD64 install to NXServer” guide. Wish me luck! Presently I’m looking for experiencing an “error while loading shared libraries: libcrypto.so.0.9.8: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory”.

  6. AndrewC Says:

    Here are the steps I took from a fresh install of Ubuntu Edgy 64bit AMD.

    1. Install build-essential from Synaptic package manager
    2. Install ia32-libs in Synaptic package manager
    3. Install openssh-server from Synaptic package manager
    4. Download libssl0.9.8c-4 from debian.linux-systeme.com.
    5. From terminal in the download directory of libssl do
    % sudo dpkg –extract libssl0.9.8_0.9.8c-4.deb ./ssl
    % sudo mv ssl/usr/lib/* /usr/lib32

    6. Original instructions above

  7. James D Freels Says:

    I actually had this working before I read your article, but I wanted to make sure I did nothing wrong/differently to get around a problem I have experienced. I am running Debian/Sarge/amd64 as per the instructions on the debian site for this un-released distribution. I can use nxclient to access the nxserver on this amd64-based system, however I do have a peculiar problem. If I get out of the nxclient window in any way (such as just minimizing the window, switch to another window or virtual screen), the entire kde-based X session is immediately closed and I get back the the kdm login screen. The nxclient is suspended and does not terminate, but this is a real pain ! The other ia32-based nxserver machines do not have this problem and are accessed exactly the same way.

    Is there a solution to this problem ?

  8. Tog Says:

    I am running it on an Ubuntu 6.10 amd64 server. The only change is in the original post. Change

    sudo cp ./usr/lib/*.so /usr/lib32 to
    sudo cp ./usr/lib/*.* /usr/lib32

    It turns out that there is a symlink in the ./usr/lib/ directory that is also needed.

  9. Henrik Says:

    Thanks! It works! Actually I started to do everything in my 32bit chroot, but it didn’t work and is not necessary. Just do as above with Tog:s update.

  10. bishop Says:

    Thanks for posting this, started struggling with this last night…wish NX would come out with an official 64 bit version….

  11. bishop Says:

    I spoke too soon, oince I open it, I can’t terminate/suspend it…looks like I’m going back to 386 ver…BTW I was using Xubuntu 6.10.

  12. ubernewb Says:

    any reason you all didn’t chroot?

  13. avkv Says:

    Here is what worked for me….

    I followed the exact same instructions, except, instead of getting libstdc++ from debian, I did sudo apt-get install libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2
    and it worked.

  14. Tlaloc Says:

    If you can’t suspend/terminate the session you didn’t install nxclient on the server machine, which is required to be able to do so!


Leave a Reply

